Local guidance/lockdowns

As part of the Government’s plan to control the spread of Coronavirus, areas may be subject to lockdown measures if the rate of infection goes above 1.
Some local authorities have implemented restrictions to their area to prevent a local lockdown, so you should check your check your local authority website to find out if there are any restrictions in your area.

What is a local lockdown/local restrictions?

The restrictions of a local lockdown vary depending on the area.

When a local area is locked down by the Government, some of the restrictions can include:

  • non-essential shops will be asked to close when the local lockdown is announced
  • bars, restaurants and hairdressers will not reopen
  • schools will close, except to vulnerable children and children of key workers. They will not reopen until next term
  • the relaxation of shielding measures due on 6 July cannot take place in the affected area
  • single-adult households (those who live alone or with dependent children only) can still form a support bubble with one other household
  • people are still able to meet in a group of up to 6 and only outdoors, provided strict social distancing is followed
  • people in the affected area are recommended to stay at home as much as they can

The Government also advises against all but essential travel to, from and within the affected area.


The UK Government has published a list of affected areas in England. Visit the local restrictions guidance for more information. https://www.gov.uk/government/collections/local-restrictions-areas-with-an-outbreak-of-coronavirus-covid-19

What areas in England have local lockdown restrictions?

Birmingham, Sandwell and Solihull

Blackburn with Darwen, Oldham and Pendle



Northampton: Greencore

North of England 

North East of England

For information about Scottish local lockdowns, please visit: https://www.gov.scot/publications/coronavirus-covid-19-local-measures/

What areas in Scotland have local lockdown restrictions?

East Dunbartonshire

East Renfrewshire

Glasgow City

North Lanarkshire


South Lanarkshire

West Dunbartonshire

Last updated: 18 September 2020, 3.14pm